Goodbye to my soulmate

I buried my best friend today. But it was more than that.

I buried my sibling today, my playmate, my confidant, my pal, my pet, and the guy who taught me how to love someone.

thumbnail_IMG_5086

I got you, Lucky, on May 14, 2003. I had always wanted a dog and after getting a good report card I convinced mom and dadΒ to take me to look at dogs. YouΒ were the fattest newborn on the farm, and I knew you was made for me.

I cried the whole way home, I never thought I could get so lucky. And that’s where your name came from, the original eight year old girl I was. But your middle name is cuddles, so Lucky doesn’t seem quite as bad.

Screen Shot 2017-03-11 at 9.41.03 PM

You were my best friend from the moment I brought you home, every memory together is a good one. I’ll never forget the way that we could get you to pull our sleds in the winter, or how you hated when we wore mittens and made us take them off. The way you’d cry when we left the house because you just wanted to be with the people you loved.

thumbnail_IMG_5091

Your favourite holiday was Christmas. I never knew a dog could get so excited, or just know that it was time to open gifts. You wouldn’t rest until everything in your stocking was opened.

And then you would lie next to us. See you were always next to us, I was never home alone because you were always by my side. Even if I was just moving from one room to the next you came along, because you loved to be with us. Even until the end, mom says you tried to get up and walk even though you were in too much pain. You loved more than I knew was possible.

Screen Shot 2017-03-11 at 9.41.13 PM

You were always one of my best playmates. It didn’t matter how old I was or what we were doing, you wanted to be involved. At (almost) fourteen you still loved to run and play, especially when your sister Lucy was involved. You always loved your siblings, so much you wanted to be one, a cat that is. You were the happiest dog I know, except when other dogs were around. Because you were made to be a cat in your mind.

thumbnail_IMG_5093

So many people don’t really understand the bond that we had. You were never a pet, because you were always so much more. You’re in almost every family photo that we have, because you’re as much a member as I am. We all love you and letting you go was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

You’ll never be forgotten because you’ll always be an important member of this family. I buried my soulmateΒ today, but I didn’t loose him. Because he’ll always be with me, and Sarah, and mom and dad.

Leave a Reply

