Guardians of Father Son Relationships (and the Galaxy)

Guardians of the Galaxy was amazing. I haven’t met anyone who didn’t fall in love with the humorous first in the series. Which means that the stakes were raised for Vol. 2, which was just released.

It surpassed expectations.

I was seriously worried walking into the theatre waiting to see if Marvel could succeed once more. From the moment the movie began, with the most adorable baby Groot, it held attention.

The plot, for those of you who don’t know, centres around Peter Quill, I mean Star-Lord, finding his father. What I didn’t expect was just how father-son the movie would be. Seriously, the whole movie was one big bonding moment (with twists, don’t worry). But that doesn’t mean it was too sentimental, it still had the humour I love.

One of the biggest and best surprises for me was when Kirk walked straight out of Gilmore Girls and onto a space ship. The hilarious Sean Gunn played Yondu’s right hand man, Kraglin. It seriously felt like a little bit of Stars Hollow was mixed in, in the best way. His character was the comedic icon all Gilmore Girls fans know and love, while fitting the Guardians world perfectly.

Absolutely nothing could top just how adorable and hilarious baby Groot was. I don’t ‘awh’ easily and I was ready to cry over how amazingly cute he was. From his tiny tantrums to his excellent dance moves I just wanted to pick him up. He dances, he helps to fight, and he carries a lot of the comedy through the film.

Drax also has an exciting new relationship with the hideous Mantis. (You’ll understand if you’ve seen the movie) While I didn’t love his character in the first movie this new friendship gave him more depth and kept me interested. Plus it helped to split the movie into smaller subplots which was a nice refresher.

The soundtrack was another winner, with more great hits from the past that kept the audience moving and singing throughout the movie. (Seriously, the guys next to me in the theatre sang along with every song).

After this addition I can’t wait to see what’s next for the Guardians gang. (Teenage Groot!!!??) I-I-I-I-I’m hooked on Guardians.

*Photo taken from Guardians of the Galaxy Instagram*

Leave a Reply

