Canada 150

Oh Canada, happy birthday.

If you’ve been living under a rock (or you’re not Canadian and don’t pay attention to Canada) you missed Canada’s 150th birthday! That’s right, the nation north of Trump has something going on too.

Canada is rather young. And i’m speaking in terms of confederation because the native people of Canada have been here for a whole lot longer than 150 years. Canada as an official country just celebrated it’s birthday and I had the pleasure of attending the celebration in the Capitol. (Which is Ottawa).

While I’ve been to Canada Day in Ottawa before I wasn’t sure what to expect this year. I mean it is a big birthday after all. To my disappointment it did not live up to my expectations.

Don’t get me wrong, I had a really great weekend celebrating, it just had nothing to do with the festivities downtown. I pictured a festival of an event, booths, and people, and community. There was a concert on parliment hill and celebrity guests and they built it up to be amazing.

Well maybe the concert was, but since it was a five hour wait to get onto the hill I never found out.

I did, however, walk around the downtown, and there were TONS of people, but nothing was really happening. People moved from one place to another, churches handed out pamphlets (like a lot), but there was nothing to do. Actually, leaving Ottawa and going to Quebec (right across the river) was my downtown highlight because it was beautiful to look at the city from across the river.

While I’m not sure how July 4th in the states gets (other than Taylor Swift’s instagram posts) I am sure that Americans celebrate harder then us Canadians. Seriously Canada, next year lets do something really big. Or be like me and have some great company that makes the trip worthwhile.

But happy birthday to the true north strong.

Leave a Reply

